Three Named to AFCA All-America Team

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Three Pac-12 football players were named to the 2011 AFCA FBS Coaches' All-America Team, the American Football Coaches Association announced Monday. STANFORD senior offensive lineman David DeCastro and senior quarterback Andrew Luck were named to the offensive team while OREGON junior running back LaMichael James was named to the specialist team as an all-purpose player.

DeCastro, a finalist for the Outland Trophy, helped anchor a Stanford offensive line which allowed just nine sacks this season while paving the way for the Cardinal's running game to average 207.92 yards on the ground.

Luck, a finalist for the Walter Camp Foundation Player of the Year, Maxwell and Davey O'Brien Awards, completed 261 of 373 passes (70.0) for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns this season.

James leads the nation in rushing with 149.64 yards per game. He has 1,646 yards this season, becoming the first player in conference history to rush for 1,500 or more yards three times in a career.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. The team is exclusively chosen by the coaches themselves.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder