Eight Volleyball Players Named All-Americans

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Eight Pac-12 volleyball players have been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I All-America teams, the AVCA announced Wednesday. The Pac-12's eight selections are second only to the Big Ten's nine selections.

Three of the Pac-12's four first-team selections are from USC, with senior outside hitter Alex Jupiter leading the way as a repeat first-team honoree from last season. Sophomore libero/defensive specialist Natalie Hagglund and senior setter Kendall Bateman also represent the Trojans on the first team. UCLA junior outside hitter Rachael Kidder rounds out the first-team selections for the Pac-12. All four of the first-team honorees are currently in San Antonio, Texas as participants in the Final Four.

WASHINGTON senior middle blocker Bianca Rowland and CALIFORNIA senior outside hitter Tarah Murrey represent the Conference on the second team, while OREGON junior outside hitter Alaina Bergsma and USC senior middle blocker Lauren Williams are on the third team.

Oregon sophomore setter Lauren Plum, WASHINGTON STATE senior outside hitter Megan Ganzer, STANFORD sophomore outside hitter Rachel Williams and Stanford sophomore middle blocker Carly Wopat are honorable mentions.

The awards will be presented Dec. 16, 2011, in San Antonio at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The Division I AVCA National Player of the Year will be announced at the banquet.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder