Stanford's Taylor Named Women's POY

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — STANFORD senior forward Lindsay Taylor has been named Soccer America's Women's Player of the Year, Soccer America announced Thursday. The web site also released its MVP and All-Freshman teams, including nine Pac-12 players on the lists.

The Women's Player of the Year award has gone to a Stanford senior for the third consecutive year, starting with Kelley O'Hara in 2009 and Christen Press in 2010. Stanford is only the second school to have Soccer America Women's Players of the Year in three consecutive years. North Carolina did it in 1998-90 and 1992-94. Its streak was broken in 1991 when Julie Foudy, the only other Stanford to earn Player of the Year honors, won the award.

UCLA senior forward Sydney Leroux, in addition to Stanford's Taylor, senior defender Camille Levin and senior midfielder Teresa Noyola, are on Soccer America's MVPs first team.

Stanford junior defender Alina Garciamendez is on the MVPs second team, bringing Stanford's count to four, the highest of any school on the list.

Stanford forward and Pac-12 Freshman of the Year Chioma Ubogagu joins UCLA defender Abby Dahlkemper and Bruin midfielder Sam Mewis as All-Freshman first-team selections. UCLA is the only school to have two players on the All-Freshman first team. Cardinal defender Kendall Romine is a second-team honoree.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder