Ten Invited To 2012 Senior Bowl

Senior Bowl Release

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Ten Pac-12 players have been invited to the 2012 Senior Bowl, the organization announced Wednesday. WASHINGTON leads the Conference with three players. ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE and CALIFORNIA will have two players each and UTAH will send one. The 63rd Senior Bowl will be Saturday, January 28, at 3 p.m. CT at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala. NFL Network will televise the game and all practices live.

"This is an impressive group from the Pac-12 and one that will no doubt do an outstanding job of representing their conference here in Mobile," Senior Bowl President and CEO Steve Hale said. "It features some big-time play-makers on both sides of the ball and we're excited about watching all of these guys take advantage of this opportunity to maximize their value to the National Football League."

Offensive lineman Senio Kelemete, running back Chris Polk and defensive lineman Alameda Ta'amu will represent Washington. Kelemete started every game at left tackle for the Huskies this season and was named to the All-Pac-12 second team. Polk was a first-team All-Pac-12 selection after posting his third straight 1,000-yard rushing season. His 1,488 yards were the second-highest single-season total in UW history. Polk was extended a Senior Bowl invite after it was determined that he had exhausted his eligibility at Washington. Despite being listed as a junior, he never applied for a medical redshirt his fresh-man year in 2008 and thus had no more eligibility remaining. Ta'amu recorded 30 tackles, including eight tackles for loss and four sacks in 2011.

Arizona quarterback Nick Foles was named to the Senior Bowl on January 12. He leaves Arizona as the Wildcats' all-time leading passer with 10,011 yards and is tied for the lead with 67 career touchdown passes. Foles' favorite target, wide receiver Juron Criner will join him in Mobile. Criner caught 75 passes for 956 yards and 11 touchdowns in 11 games. He is Arizona's career record holder with 32 receiving touchdowns.

Arizona State's invitees were offensive lineman Garth Gerhart and wide receiver Gerell Robinson. Gerhart was a second-team All-Pac-12 honoree after starting all 13 games at center and helping the Sun Devils offense average 316.7 passing yards per game. Robinson finished the season with 1,397 yards, the second-highest total in school history.

Linebacker Mychal Kendricks, the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, and offensive lineman Mitchell Schwartz will represent California. Kendricks lead the Bears with a career-high 107 tackles and 14.5 tackles for loss. Schwartz was an All-Conference first team honoree after starting all 13 games at left tackle.

Utah offensive lineman Tony Bergstrom also received an invitation to Mobile. The first-team All-Pac-12 selection led the Utes with an 85 percent overall grade on his blocking assignments.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder