Twelve Named to Preseason Watch List

Complete Watch List

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Twelve Pac-12 players were named to the watch list for the 2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced Wednesday. Players from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, UCLA and WASHINGTON were among the top 50 to receive preseason recognition.

Now in its 11th year, the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, given by the National Governing Body for softball in the United States, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Named to the watch list was the reigning Collegiate Player of the Year, Stanford senior infielder Ashley Hansen. Hansen, who was also named the 2011 Pac-10 Player of the Year, batted .495 and led the nation with 0.42 doubles per game last year.

Other Conference recipients of the most prestigious individual award in NCAA Division softball are UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002) and Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009, 2010).

Preseason Watch List (Pac-12 Players Only)

 Name School Year
 Valerie Arioto  California  Sr.  UTIL
 Katelyn Boyd  Arizona State  Sr.  SS
 Brigette Del Ponte  Arizona  Jr.  INF
 Dallas Escobedo  Arizona State  So.  P
 Kenzie Fowler  Arizona  Jr.  P
 Kellie Fox  UCLA  So.  SS
 Ashley Hansen  Stanford  Sr.  INF
 Andrea Harrison  UCLA  Sr.  LF/1B
 Jolene Henderson  California  Jr.  P
 Kimi Pohlman  Washington  Sr.  OF
 Jamia Reid  California  Sr.  OF
 Niki Williams  Washington  Sr.  UTIL
Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder