Five Champions Repeat on Second Day

Federal Way, Wash. - USC claimed three events, and ARIZONA's Ben Grado won his first Pac-12 crown on Thursday at the 2012 Pac-12 Women's Swimming and Men's and Women's Diving Championships at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. STANFORD moved into the team lead with a victory in the 200-yard freestyle and several strong individual finishes.

The Cardinal finished the second day of competition with 462 points. CALIFORNIA is second with 426.5 and USC sits in third with 390.

In the first final of the day, USC senior Victoria Ishimatsu captured her third straight women's 1-meter springboard title with 337.05 points. This is Ishimatsu's sixth career Conference title after also winning the 3-meter in 2009, 2010 and 2011. Arizona sophomore Samantha Pickens improved on her fourth-place finish from a year ago, placing second with 329.00. ASU senior Elina Eggers scored 312.25 for third place.

USC junior Haley Anderson repeated as champion in the 500 freestyle and set the Pac-12 meet record with a time of 4:36.52. The previous record was 4:37.76 by another Trojan, Kalyn Keller in 2004. This is Anderson's fourth individual title after also winning the last two 1,650 freestyle events at the Conference meet. Cal freshman Catherine Breed finished second in 4:38.58, followed by ARIZONA senior Alyssa Anderson, who was third in 4:39.90.

Senior Katinka Hosszu swam the fastest 200 individual medley time in the NCAA this season, bettering her time from December to capture another title for the Trojans in 1:52.37. She just edged out Cal junior Caitlin Leverenz, who finished in 1:52.43. It was the second straight win in the event for Hosszu, last year's Swimmer of the Meet. Stanford sophomore Maya DiRado rounded out the top three in 1:55.42. All three recorded automatic NCAA qualifying times.

Cal senior Liv Jensen, who anchored the Bear's two winning relay teams on Wednesday night, defended her 50 freestyle championship, winning in 21.70. Arizona sophomore Margo Geer, the top qualifier from the preliminaries, placed second in 21.88. Stanford senior Betsy Webb finished third in 22.02.

Arizona senior Ben Grado became the first Wildcat men's diver to win a Conference title since his coach Omar Ojeda won six events from 2001 to 2002. Grado scored 421.60 in the final. Stanford senior Taylor Sishc finished second with 371.95 and ASU senior Cameron Bradshaw was third with 361.15.

In the final event of the evening, Stanford made it three straight in 200 freestyle relay. The Cardinal quartet of senior Sam Woodward, freshman Maddy Schaefer, junior Andi Murez and Betsy Webb swam an automatic NCAA qualifying time of 1:28.07. Arizona (1:28.55) and Cal (1:29.46) rounded out the top three.

The 2012 Pac-12 Championships continue Friday, Feb. 24 with preliminaries at 11 a.m. PT and finals at 6 p.m. PT. Tomorrow's swimming events will be the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and 400 medley relay. Diving events are the men's 1-meter and women's 3-meter.

Women's Current Team Standings
1. Stanford 462
2. California 426.5
3. USC 390
4. Arizona 385
5. UCLA 341.5
6. Arizona State 298
7. Utah 233
8. Oregon State 142.5
9. Washington State 134.5

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder