Oregon State Wins Pac-12 Title

- Final Bracket
- Final Team Standings
- True Second-Place Matches

BOISE, ID. - Oregon State held off a late charge from host Boise State to claim the Pac-12 Wrestling Championship for the second time in three years before a lively crowd of 2,425 at Taco Bell Arena. Boise State's Brent Chriswell was named Most Outstanding Wrestler for the tournament after claiming the 197-pound title.

The Beavers won four individual championships and secured a conference-high seven automatic qualifying berths for the NCAA Tournament.

Chriswell ignited the home crowd with a 5-2 win over OSU's Taylor Meeks, the top seed, and cut into the Beaver lead with one match remaining. But OSU heavyweight Clayton Jack locked up the team title by winning his second consecutive Pac-12 title with a 3-0 win over Arizona State's Levi Cooper.

Oregon State entered the championship meet ranked 16th in the country with a 10-3 mark and 5-0 in Pac-12 competition. They took a 13-point lead after the morning session by putting wrestlers in six of the 10 individual championships. Stanford was second with five title matches, while Boise State qualified for four.

Stanford's Ryan Mango won the first individual title of the night defeating OSU's Pat Rollins in the 125 division. It was Mango's second career conference title after winning the 133-pound weight class in 2010. Boise State's Brian Owen followed by defeating Cal State Bakersfield's Frank Lomas 4-2 for the 133-pound crown.

The Beavers gained the momentum in the championship round when Michael Mangrum upset top seed, defending conference champion and #2 ranked Boris Novachkov from Cal Poly in the 141-pound weight class. Teammate Scott Sakaguchi gave the Beavers their second consecutive champion when he claimed the 149-pound title.

Boise State had a chance to close the gap in the 157-pound title match, but second seeded Roger Pena from OSU pulled out a 5-2 win over top-seed Georgi Ivanov from Boise State.

Cal Poly's Dominic Kastl, Stanford's Nick Amuchastegui and Boise State's Jacob Swartz grabbed automatic berths into the NCAA tournament by winning the 165, 174 and 184-pound weight classes respectively. The Pac-12 had 19 wrestlers earn automatic bids into the NCAA Tournament, including seven for OSU, four for Boise State, four for Cal Poly, two for Stanford, one for ASU and one for Cal State Bakersfield. The qualifiers were: (125) Ryan Mango (Stan), Pat Rollins (OSU); (133) Brian Owen (BSU), Frank Lomas (CSB); (141) Mike Mangrum (OSU), Boris Novachkov (CP); (149) Scott Sakaguchi (OSU); (157) Roger Pena (OSU), Georgi Ivanov (BSU); (165) Dominic Kastl (CP); (174) Nick Amuchastegui (Stan), Ryan Des- Roches (CP); (184) Jacob Swartz (BSU), Ty Vinson (OSU); (197) Brent Chriswell (BSU), Taylor Meeks (OSU), Ryan Smith (CP); (Heavyweight) Clayton Jack (OSU), Levi Cooper (ASU).

Final Team Standings

Oregon State 138.0
Boise State 129.0
Stanford 125.0
Arizona State 102.5
Cal Poly 98.0
Cal State Bakersfield 78.5

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder