Johnson Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Pac-12 Content Image

LOS ANGELES - OREGON senior forward Amanda Johnson was named the 2012 Toyo Tires Pac-12 Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Wednesday at the Pacific Life Pac-12 Basketball Tournament. The award, which is presented in the 22 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Johnson (Santa Rosa, Calif.) is the only player in Oregon women's basketball program history to be named a three-time Academic All-American. She was selected to the Capital One Academic All-America first team in 2011 and 2012 after receiving second-team honors in 2010. Johnson is only the second Pac-12 player to earn three Academic All-America awards, following Oregon State's Chelle Flamoe from 1987-89.

A graduate student who is pursuing her master's degree in counseling psychology and human services, Johnson carries a 4.16 grade point average. She graduated summa cum laude and in the top two percent of her class after her sophomore year with a double major in psychology and sociology. A finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, Johnson plans to work in the field of social services, and is interested in such specialties as mental-health counseling, youth work for a non-profit or residential facility.

Despite missing 11 games with a broken thumb this season, Johnson leads the Ducks with 18.4 points and 9.7 rebounds per game and was named to the 2012 All-Pac-12 team. Johnson's career numbers include 1,495 points, 85 rebounds and 166 three-pointers.

Eligible student-athletes including seniors on track to receive a degree with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher who have been at their institution for more than a year and participate in at least 50 percent of their scheduled contests in their particular sport.
Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

The Pac-12 Conference, in cooperation with its corporate partner Toyo Tires, established the "Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented by Toyo Tires" during the 2009-10 academic year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network