Kamp Receives Toyo Tires Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete Award

LOS ANGELES--CALIFORNIA's Harper Kamp has been named the Pac-12 Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires, it was announced today by Commissioner Larry Scott.

Kamp, a senior from Mesa, Ariz., is among California's all-time leading scorers with 1,091 points. He was the 18th player in school history to score 1,000 points and grab 500 rebounds in his career. He's twice been named second team All-Conference and earned NABC All-District honors last season. A recipient of California's Pete Newell Coach's Award, Kamp was a Pac-10 second team All-Academic selection in 2010-11.

An American Studies major, Kamp sports a 3.17 GPA and will graduate in May.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are also factored into the voting for the award.

Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo Tires will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports. The Pac-12, in cooperation with corporate partner Toyo Tires, established the "Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented by Toyo Tires" during the 2008-09 academic year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder