Five Teams to Play in WNIT

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Five Pac-12 women's basketball teams are set to participate in the Women's National Invitational Tournament (WNIT). It is the most number of teams for the Conference. Tournament play begins Wednesday night and goes through March 31, when the WNIT Champion will be crowned.

The teams selected for the tournament are ARIZONA STATE, COLORADO, OREGON STATE, UTAH and WASHINGTON. The Pac-12 has seen success in the postseason event recently. Last year, USC reached the finals while CALIFORNIA won the championship in 2010.

The Sun Devils (20-11, 10-8) travel to Pacific to play their first-round game on Friday, March 16. The Beavers, who finished tied for fifth in the Conference, are 18-12 and 9-9 so far this season, and host UC Davis on Thursday, March 15.

The Buffs (18-13, 6-12), who went undefeated in non-conference play, host Northern Colorado on Wednesday, March 14. The Utes (15-15, 8-10) will also play host, welcoming Utah State on Thursday, March 15. The Huskies (17-13, 8-10) will also host its first-round opponent. Cal Poly makes the trip up to Seattle on Wednesday, March 14.

All rounds of the WNIT are played at campus sites by participating teams. Celebrating its 15th season, the WNIT championship game will take place on Saturday, March 31, and will be televised on CBS Sports Network.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder