Skip to main content

Chen Named Pac-12 Academic First Team

Apr 5, 2012

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Colorado junior guard Sabatino Chen was named to the 2012 Pac-12 Conference Men's Basketball Academic First Team, announced Thursday by Commissioner Larry Scott.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Chen played in 35 games in a reserve role for the Buffaloes during the 2011-12 season. The Louisville, Colo. native is majoring in mathematics, in addition to pursuing a certificate in actuarial studies.

Redshirt-Sophomore Shane Harris-Tunks, who is majoring in Advertising in the College of Journalism and Mass Communication, was named conference honorable mention. Harris-Tunks is pursuing the selective creative track in the Advertising program and was recently accepted into the Alliance for Learning, Technology and Society's minor program.

It's the third straight year a CU men's basketball student-athlete was named to the conference all-Academic first team. In 2009-10 and 2010-11, current CU senior men's basketball student-athlete Trey Eckloff, and May 2011 graduate Levi Knutson were named to the All-Big 12 first team.

Pac-12 All-Academic
First Team
Sabatino Chen, Colorado, Jr., 3.56, Mathematics
John Gage, Stanford, So., 3.66, Undeclared
Trent Lockett, Arizona State, Jr., 3.32, Business Communications
Rhys Murphy, Oregon State, Jr., 3.77, Psychology
Jack Trotter, Stanford, Sr., 3.73, Economics

Second Team
Harper Kamp, California, Sr., 3.17, American Studies
Patrick Simon, Washington State, So., 3.34, Undeclared
Abe Lodwick, Washington State, Sr., 3.22, Communication
Andrew Zimmerman, Stanford, Sr., 3.23, Psychology
Josh Owens, Stanford, Sr., 3.10, Economics

Honorable Mention
Stefan Nastic (So., Stanford); Dwight Powell (So., Stanford); Shane Harris-Tunks (RS-So., Colorado); Angus Brandt (Jr., Oregon State); Jorge Gutierrez (Sr., California); Charlie Enquist (Sr., Washington State); Garrett Sim (Sr., Oregon); Josh Huestis (So., Stanford); Anthony Brown (So., Stanford); Brendan Lane (Jr., UCLA).