Seven On Wallace Award Watch List

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Seven Pac-12 baseball players are on the 50-man watch list for the 2012 Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award, as released by the College Baseball Hall of Fame on Thursday. The Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation's top shortstop. The Pac-12 and SEC lead all conferences with seven players each on the watch list.

Representing the Pac-12 Conference on the watch list are the following student-athletes (in alphabetical order): J.J. Altobelli, Jr., ORE; James Brooks, Sr., UTAH; Kenny Diekroeger, Jr., STAN; Deven Marrero, Jr., ASU; Alex Mejia, Jr., ARIZ; Tyler Smith, Jr., OSU; and Pat Valaika, So., UCLA.

The award will be presented on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder