Teams Seek NCAA Title In Tennessee

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Five Pac-12 teams will compete in the 2012 NCAA Women's Golf Championships which run May 22-25, at the Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tenn. Vanderbilt will serve as the host. ARIZONA STATE, COLORADO, STANFORD, UCLA and USC all qualified out of their regionals. Additionally, ARIZONA's Margarita Ramos will compete as an individual.

The Vanderbilt Legends Club North Course is a 6,377-yard, par-72 course. The NCAA Championships will be played over 72 holes, with morning and afternoon groups going off number one and 10 tees. Each team consists of five players, and the top four scores from each team will be counted each day.

Live scoring of the NCAA Championships will be available on The NCAA will provide a live webcast of the ninth and 18th holes for the third and fourth rounds of the tournament. For more information, visit

Pac-12 teams have captured 14 NCAA titles in women's golf, including three in the last four years. UCLA is the defending national champion and also won in 1991 and 2004. Arizona State has won more NCAA championships than any other program with seven, with the most recent trophy coming in 2009. Arizona and USC both have two apiece. The Pac-12 has 449 NCAA team titles, more than any other conference.

Team Previews:
Arizona State - The Sun Devils are making their 21st straight appearance and 30th overall at the NCAA Championships. Both are NCAA records. ASU has recorded seven top-five finishes this season, including second place at the PING/ASU Invitational among a field that featured nine top-25 teams. ASU tied for sixth at the NCAA East Regional. Senior Giulia Molinaro is currently ranked fourth in the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings and holds the third-best scoring average in the nation at 72.28. She tied for second at the Pac-12 Championships in April.

Colorado - The Buffaloes are making their first appearance at the NCAA Championships. After beginning the final round of the NCAA West Regional in a tie for ninth place, Colorado recorded a 9-under par 279 to finish fourth and lock up its first bid. It was the Buffaloes' second-best team round in school history, and all five players were under par for a new program record. Senior Emily Talley shot a 4-under 68 on the last day, the best postseason round in CU history.

Stanford - Stanford qualified with a tie for fifth place at the NCAA West Regional. The Cardinal entered the final day with a one-stroke lead over the competition and finished six strokes behind first-place UCLA and LSU. Junior Sally Watson turned in three consecutive rounds of 71 to tie for fourth place at 213 (-3). Senior Sydney Burlison set the tone for Stanford at the tournament with a 67 in the opening round. Burlison finished the regional tied for 10th (218, -2).

UCLA - The top-ranked Bruins look to defend their NCAA title and enter the championships with seven tournament victories this season. UCLA won the Mason Rudolph Fall Preview, the Stanford Intercollegiate, the Rainbow Wahine Invitational, the Regional Challenge, the PING/ASU Invitational, the Pacific Coast Intercollegiate and tied for first at the NCAA West Regional. Three Bruins are ranked among the nation's top-15 players in either the latest Golfstat or Golfweek/Sagarin rankings: freshman Erynne Lee (4/5), junior Lee Lopez (11/12) and junior Tiffany Lua (9/11). Lua tied for fourth at last year's NCAA Championships.

- USC captured its third consecutive regional after winning the NCAA Central Regional. The Trojans led after each round, finishing with a 25-stroke victory at 10-over 874. Senior Lisa McCloskey tied for first while sophomore Sophia Popov and freshman Doris Chen joined her in the top 10. McCloskey is ranked sixth in the nation and leads the Trojans with a 72.34 average. She has eight top-10 finishes this season, with her first career win as a Trojan at the NCAA Central Regional. Chen captured the Pac-12 individual crown with a one-over 217.

Individual Preview:
Margarita Ramos, Arizona - The senior from Mexico City will close out her collegiate career at the NCAA Championships after tying for 10th at the NCAA East Regional. On the season, she holds a stroke average of 74.06 and has collected nine rounds at or below par. She has five top-10 finishes and six in the top 20.

NCAA Team Champions from the Pac-12
1990 - Arizona State
1991 - UCLA
1993 - Arizona State
1994 - Arizona State
1995 - Arizona State
1996 - Arizona
1997 - Arizona State
1998 - Arizona State
2000 - Arizona
2003 - USC
2004 - UCLA
2008 - USC
2009 - Arizona State
2011 - UCLA

NCAA Individual Champions from the Pac-12
1985 - Danielle Ammaccapane, Arizona State
1990 - Susan Slaughter, Arizona
1991 - Annika Sorenstam, Arizona
1995 - Kristel Mourgue d'Algue, Arizona State
1996 - Marisa Baena, Arizona
1998 - Jennifer Rosales, USC
1999 - Grace Park, Arizona State
2000 - Jenna Daniels, Arizona
2003 - Mikaela Parmlid, USC
2004 - Sarah Huarte, California
2006 - Dewi Schreefel, USC
2008 - Azahara Muñoz, ASU

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder