Sixteen Named to CRCA All-Region Teams

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Sixteen Pac-12 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Division I West All-Region Teams, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced Tuesday. These awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season. These athletes will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Rowing Championships.

In addition, CALIFORNIA head coach Dave O'Neill was named West Region Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season. In his first season with the Golden Bears, Lincoln LaRoe was named West Region Assistant Coach of the Year.

West All-Region Teams

First Team
Elise Etem, California
Paparangi Hipango, California?
Michelle Leason, California
Daphne Martschenko, Stanford
Lisa Roman, Washington State
Britta Syverson, UCLA
Anna Taylor, Oregon State?
Helen Tinkus, USC?
Lenka Vrecnikova, USC?
Rachel Ersted, California, coxswain

Second Team
Anastasia Alexander, UCLA?
Vineta Moca, USC?
Aggie Nowinski, California?
Kristy Wentzel, Stanford
Anna Wierzbowska, USC
Dionne Licudine, USC, coxswain

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder