Five Headed To NCAA Championship

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — ARIZONA, OREGON, OREGON STATE, STANFORD and UCLA have been selected to the 64-team field for the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, as announced by the NCAA selection committee on Monday.

UCLA received the No. 2 overall seed in the tournament, while Oregon earned the No. 5 overall seed. UCLA, Oregon, Arizona and Stanford all will host a regional as tournament play starts Friday.

In the Los Angeles Regional, the Pac-12 Co-Champion Bruins (42-14), who are the top seed in the regional, start off with four-seed Creighton (26-28). Third-seed New Mexico (36-22) and second-seed San Diego (40-15) round out the rest of the regional.

Arizona (38-17) is the No. 1 seed in the Tucson Regional, where the Pac-12 Co-Champions will take on Big 12 tournament champion Missouri (32-26) on Friday at 8 p.m. PT. That game is preceded by three-seed Louisville versus two-seed New Mexico State (35-22) at 4 p.m. PT. Every game of the Tucson Regional will be broadcast on ESPNU and ESPN3.

The Palo Alto Regional features top regional seed Stanford (38-16) and four-seed Fresno State (30-26). As pointed out in the NCAA selection show, Cardinal ace Mark Appel is 9-1 on the season, and his only loss came against Fresno State in early March. Three-seed Michigan State (37-21) and two-seed Pepperdine (34-21) make up the other half of the regional slate. Every game of the Palo Alto Regional can be seen on ESPN3.

Oregon (42-17) plays host for the Eugene Regional as the No. 5 national seed and top seed in the regional. First up for the Ducks is fourth-seeded Austin Peay (38-22). Oregon coach George Horton has a chance to face his alma mater and old team, two-seed Cal State Fullerton (35-19), depending on how the Titans fare against three-seed Indiana State (41-17).

Oregon State (38-18) is the second seed in the Baton Rouge Regional, hosted by No. 7 overall seed LSU. The Beavers start off with three-seed Belmont (39-22) on Friday. OSU is in the postseason for the seventh time in eight years.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled from Friday, June 1, to Monday, June 4 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on on June 4 at about 8 p.m. PT.

The 66th Men's College World Series starts Friday, June 15, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder