Three To Play In Oklahoma City

Pac-12 Content Image

Download Complete Release


Top-seeded California, No. 3 Arizona State and No. 11 Oregon will represent the Pac-12 at the Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Games will be televised on ESPN or ESPN2. In addition, all games will be available online on ESPN3.

California, making its 12th appearance in the WCWS, will face LSU on Thursday. Cal defeated Washington in two games in the Berkeley Super Regional, while the Tigers took two of three from Missouri in Columbia, Mo. Cal and LSU met in February at the Louisville Slugger Desert Classic, where the Golden Bears won 14-3 in five innings.

Oregon is making its second WCWS appearance and first since 1989. The Ducks are in Oklahoma City after winning their program's first Super Regional games, taking the second and third games of their series at Texas. Oregon is set for a rematch with defending NCAA champion and Pac-12 foe Arizona State on Thursday. The Sun Devils advanced to their 10th WCWS after rebounding from an opening Super Regional loss to Louisiana-Lafayette. Oregon and ASU split a pair of games in Eugene during Conference play, with the series finale cancelled due to poor weather conditions.

The most successful conference in NCAA softball, Pac-12 teams have captured 23 of 30 championships, including the last six. Only 10 different schools have won NCAA titles and five are from the Pac-12: UCLA (11), Arizona (8), Arizona State (2), Cal (1) and Washington (1). All nine
Conference teams have played in the WCWS.

The Pac-12 has seen at least one of its teams play in every WCWS since the NCAA began sponsoring a softball championship in 1982. Since 1987, at least two teams have advanced to Oklahoma City. In 1999, a record five out of the final eight teams were from the Pac-10. This is the ninth time the Conference has sent three teams to the WCWS, with the most recent years being from 2007 to 2010.

A total of 12 championship finals have featured two Pac-12 teams. Most recently, UCLA defeated Arizona in two games in 2010.

Only two championship finals have not featured one Pac-12 team: 1983 and 1986.

Four ASU players were named Capital One Academic All-Americans last week. Hillary Bach, Katelyn Boyd and Bailey Wigness earned first team honors while Annie Lockwood was named to the second team.

Eight of the Pac-12's nine teams made the NCAA Tournament this year.

ASA Hall of Fame Stadium - Oklahoma City

Thursday, May 31

Game 1: No. 4 Oklahoma vs. South Florida (ESPN2) 12 p.m. CT
Game 2: No. 1 California vs. LSU (ESPN2) 2:30 p.m. CT [ Watch Live ]

Thursday, May 31

Game 3: No. 2 Alabama vs. No. 7 Tennessee (ESPN2) 6 p.m. CT
Game 4: No. 3 Arizona State vs. No. 6 Oregon (ESPN2) 8:30 p.m. CT [ Watch Live ]

Complete WCWS bracket is available here.

(Bracket 1 winner vs. Bracket 2 winner; Best of three)
Game 1: Monday, June 4 (ESPN2) 7 p.m. CT
Game 2: Tuesday, June 5 (ESPN2) 7 p.m. CT
If necessary - Game 3: Wednesday, June 6 (ESPN) 7 p.m. CT

All game times local to site and subject to change.

The WCWS is a double-elimination format. In the first session of the WCWS, the higher-ranked team is home team. After first-round games, teams will alternate as home team according to the formula applied by the games committee.