Pac-12 Leads The Way With Nine NCAA Titles

NCAA Championships by conference
Conference Men/Combined Women Total
Pac-12 4 5 9
Southeastern 3 5 8
Big Ten 4 2 6
Other 6 0 6
Atlantic Coast 2 2 4
Big 12 1 1 2
Big East 0 1 1

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-12 continues to live up to its well-deserved billing of "Conference of Champions®" by capturing nine NCAA titles during the 2011-12 academic year, the most number of NCAA titles by any conference. The Southeastern Conference was second with eight NCAA championships. It marks the 11th time in the last 12 years that the Pac-12 has led or tied all conferences in NCAA championships won. In addition to the nine national titles, Pac-12 teams posted NCAA runner-up finishes eight times.

In fact, it was ARIZONA's baseball team that sealed the deal for most NCAA titles by a conference when the Wildcats defeated South Carolina of the SEC in the College World Series to post the Pac-12's ninth NCAA title this year. The Pac-12 men's and women's programs shared the wealth in 2011-12 as the Conference claimed five NCAA women's titles and four men's crowns. The depth of the Conference was shown by the fact six different league schools claimed NCAA titles. Only five institutions claimed multiple NCAA titles this year, with three of them Pac-12 schools. For the second straight year CALIFORNIA, STANFORD and USC each won two NCAA championships and were joined by Alabama and Florida as multiple title winners this academic year.

Cal swept the men's and women's swimming titles, the Cardinal won the women's soccer and women's water polo crowns, and USC captured NCAA championships in men's water polo and men's tennis. Other NCAA crowns came from OREGON in women's indoor track & field, UCLA in women's volleyball and ARIZONA in baseball.

Highlights from the 2011-12 campaign include three Pac-12 teams placing in the top four in both the men's and women's swimming championships, and women's water polo. Also, an all-Pac-12 finals matchup was featured in men's and women's water polo.

The Pac-12 championship tradition includes 451 all-time team titles won by league institutions. The Pac-12 is the first in history to reach the milestone and is, by far, the most of any conference in the country with nearly 200 more championships than the next closest conference (Big Ten).

The moniker "Conference of Champions®" has been earned by the number of titles, but also the depth of success. Pac-12 teams have won championships in 27 of the 37 Division I sports the NCAA sponsors and has reached double digit titles in 19 of those sports. Overall, the Pac-12 has claimed more NCAA titles in 46 of the last 52 years and finished second five times.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder