Postgraduate Scholarship Winners Announced

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Pac-12 Conference Commissioner Larry Scott announced the 48 outstanding Pac-12 student-athletes who have been named recipients of Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year. These $3,000 awards go to student-athletes with a minimum 3.0 grade point average who have also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement, and leadership. Since the program began in 1999, the Pac-12 has awarded over $1.5 million for postgraduate study.

To be selected for a Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:

• Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.

• Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection.

• Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete's athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance.

• Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission.

• Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

In 1999, the Pac-12 Conference created a postgraduate scholarship program to honor outstanding student-athletes from its member institutions who also are outstanding scholars. Each Pac-12 institution selects four student-athlete recipients, two men and two women, through its institutional selection process.

Below is the list of the 2011-12 recipients by institution.

2011-12 Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarship Winners

Name Sport

Trace Biskin, Football
Rebecca Cardenas, Gymnastics
Andy Guerra, Diving
Ainsley Oliver, Diving

Arizona State                               
Hillary Bach, Softball
Cameron Kastl,  Football
John Kline, Track & Field
Cj Navarro, Track & Field

Maxime Chevee, Cross Country/Track & Field
Shelley Harper, Swimming
Jana Juricova, Tennis
Giorgio Tavecchio, Football

Katie Dreher, Track & Field
Caroline Danneberg, Soccer
Trey Eckloff, Basketball
Tony Poremba, Football

Bronwyn Crossman, Track & Field
Amanda Johnson, Basketball
David Paulson, Football
Brian Schaudt, Track & Field

Oregon State
Meghan Leineweber, Rowing
Leslie Mak, Gymnastics
Brian Ramsey, Soccer
Leslie Urban, Rowing                        

Clayton Holz, Soccer
Amaechi Morton, Track & Field
Nneka Ogwumike, Basketball
Betsy Webb, Swimming

Charney Burk, Soccer
Brooke Finley, Softball
Nick Meister, Tennis
Mark Weber, Track & Field  

Brianna Gilbreath, Basketball
Daniel Nguyen, Tennis
Amanda Smith, Swimming
Greg Woodburn, Track & Field

Alyssa Abbot, Track & Field
Eric Bonicelli, Swimming
Hannah Caron, Swimming
Torjus Kroghdahl, Skiing

Sarah Martinez, Soccer
Sam Osjerkis, Crew
Veronica Tamsitt, Crew
Gregory Walker, Football

Washington State       
Jake Baertlein, Track & Field
Jared Karstetter, Football
Tiara Pittman, Soccer
Rosemarie Tarnowski, Basketball

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder