Pac-12's Tradition of Excellence Continues

Download Complete Final Release

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA baseball's NCAA championship win on June 25 put an exclamation point on the Pac-12 Conference's prominence in collegiate baseball.

The Wildcats went unbeaten in the postseason, becoming the second team in NCAA history to go 10-0 on the way to a national title. Arizona's CWS championship is the third for the Pac-12 in the last seven years, with OREGON STATE winning back-to-back championships in 2006 and 2007, and the 27th NCAA baseball title for the Pac-12, leading all conferences. The Big 12 Conference is second on the list with 10 national baseball championships.

Arizona also became the seventh program to win four or more College World Series titles. USC and ARIZONA STATE are also on that list, with 12 and five national crowns, respectively.

Before the 2012 College World Series came a bevvy of national honors for the Conference of Champions. The Pac-12 led all conferences in Baseball America College All-America selections with eight, and tied the ACC and SEC for NCBWA All-America selections at seven each. Among the Pac-12's seven Louisville Slugger Freshman All-Americans is Oregon State's Michael Conforto, who was named the Louisville Slugger Freshman Player of the Year and the NCBWA Freshman Hitter of the Year.

The Conference had a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award (STANFORD RHP Mark Appel) and finalists for three major honors from the College Baseball Hall of Fame: the National Pitcher of the Year Award (Appel), the Brooks Wallace Award for the nation's top shortstop (Arizona's Alex Mejia) and the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award (Stanford utility player Stephen Piscotty).

In early June, the Pac-12 Conference had the second-highest number of players taken in the MLB Draft with 57 selections. The SEC had just five more selections at 62.


College World Series
TD Ameritrade Park Omaha - Omaha, Neb.

June 15
Game 1: UCLA 9, Stony Brook 1
Game 2: ARIZONA 4, Florida State 3 (12)

June 17
Game 5: Florida State 12, Stony Brook 2
Game 6: ARIZONA 4, UCLA 0

June 19
Game 9: Florida State 4, UCLA 1

June 21
Game 11: ARIZONA 10, Florida State 3

College World Series Championship Finals
June 24
Game 1: ARIZONA 5, South Carolina 1

June 25
Game 2: ARIZONA 4, South Carolina 1


Los Angeles Regional (Los Angeles, Calif.)
June 1: UCLA 3, Creighton 0
June 2: UCLA 7, New Mexico 1
June 3: UCLA 13, Creighton 5

Tucson Regional (Tucson, Ariz.)
June 1: Arizona 15, Missouri 3
June 2: Arizona 16, Louisville 4
June 3: Arizona 16, Louisville 3

Stanford Regional (Stanford, Calif.)
June 1: Stanford 9, Fresno State 1
June 2: Stanford 5, Pepperdine 4
June 3: Stanford 8, Pepperdine 7

Eugene Regional (Eugene, Ore.)
June 1: Oregon 6, Austin Peay 5
June 2: Oregon 7, Cal State Fullerton 5
June 3: Oregon 8, Austin Peay 1

Baton Rouge Regional (Baton Rouge, La.)
June 1: Oregon State 2, Belmont 1
June 2: Louisiana State 7, Oregon State 1
June 3: Oregon St. 11, Louisiana-Monroe 2
June 3: Louisiana State 6, Oregon St. 5 (10)


Los Angeles Super Regional (Los Angeles, Calif.)
June 8: UCLA 6, Texas Christian 2
June 9: UCLA 4, Texas Christian 1

Tallahassee Super Regional (Tallahassee, Fla.)
June 8: Florida State 17, STANFORD 1
June 9: PPD
June 10: Florida State 18, STANFORD 7

Tucson Super Regional (Tucson, Ariz.)
June 8: ARIZONA 7, St. John's 6 (10)
June 9: ARIZONA 7, St. John's 4

Eugene Super Regional (Eugene, Ore.)
June 9: Kent State 7, OREGON 6
June 10: OREGON 3, Kent State 2
June 11: Kent State 3, OREGON 2

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder