Bach named Pac-12 Woman of the Year

Pac-12 Content Image


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Arizona State softball pitcher Hillary Bach has been named the Pac-12 Conference Woman of the Year for the 2011-12 academic year, Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott announced Monday. Bach becomes the Conference's candidate for the NCAA Woman of the Year honor. The NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors graduating student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership.
In the classroom, a Tulsa, Okla., native, Bach has achieved a 3.73 grade-point average and graduated with a degree in business marketing in 2011 from ASU. She is a three-time first-team Academic All-Pac-12 honoree, and has also earned several other academic accolades, including being named to the Presidents Honor Roll and earning the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship. She is currently working on her masters in business administration.
Bach represents the Sun Devils and served as president of the Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC) during her senior year. She is a Pat Tillman Scholar, logging over 100 service hours in the community, most notably developing and implementing a fundraiser beneftting the United Way that has been adopted as the organization's national campaign. She is also a camp leader for the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.
On the field, she was instrumental in securing ASU's 2011 Pac-10 Championship, leading the team to a NCAA title in 2011. She posted a 10-0 record as a junior from the pitching circle, with an earned run average of 2.79. As a senior captain, she was 22-1 on the season with a 1.51 ERA, while leading the Sun Devils to the NCAA Women's College World Series for the third time in her career.
Bach is the seventh female student-athlete to be named Pac-12 Woman of the Year. Previous winners are: Annie Chandler, ARIZ (2011); Justine Schluntz, ARIZ (2010); Lacey Nymeyer, ARIZ (2009); Arianna Lambie, STAN (2008); Whitney Myers, ARIZ (2007) and Kate Richardson, UCLA (2006). She is the first Sun Devil to earn the honor. Four from the Conference have won the prestigious NCAA Woman of the Year honor.
The top 30 honorees, 10 from each NCAA division, will be announced in early September. The NCAA Woman of the Year is announced in October. 
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network