Bach among top 30 candidates for NCAA Woman of the Year

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Former Arizona State softball player Hillary Bach is among the top 30 candidates for the 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year award, the NCAA recently announced. Now in its 22nd year, the NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors graduating student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership.

The top 30 honorees were nominated by conference and independent members and represent multiple sports. Bach was named the 2012 Pac-12 Woman of the Year this summer. Three finalists will be chosen from each division to form the nine finalists for the NCAA Woman of the Year award.

The national winner will be chosen by the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics and will be announced in an Oct. 14 ceremony in Indianapolis at the Indiana Convention Center's 500.

Bach, a native of Tulsa, Okla., graduated from ASU's W.P. Carey Business School with a degree in business marketing in just three years. Following her graduation, she began the W.P Carey MBA program with an emphasis in international leadership.

Bach was a three-year letterwinner for the Sun Devils. She was named first team CoSIDA Academic All-District VII, second team all-Pac-12 and first team NFCA All-West Region during her senior season. She was also named first team All-America, first team Academic All-Pac-12 and received an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship in her final collegiate campaign.

She appeared in 27 games as a senior, going 22-1 in 143.2 innings pitched.  She earned Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week three times and recorded a perfect game against Wichita State. Bach was just the fifth Sun Devil all-time to pitch a perfect game, finishing her career second all-time in wins at ASU with 88.

Four Pac-12 student-athletes, all from Arizona, have won the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. Wildcat swimmers Whitney Myers (2007), Lacey Nymeyer (2009) and Justine Schluntz (2010) won the last two, while former track and field athlete Tanya Jones received the honor in 1994.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder