Happe, Hasay named Pac-12 cross country scholar-athletes of the year

Pac-12 Content Image

By the Pac-12 Conference

SANTA CLARITA, Calif. -- ARIZONA STATE's Nick Happe and OREGON's Jordan Hasay  were named the Pac-12 Men's and Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athletes of the Year, the Conference office announced on Saturday at the Pac-12 Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships. The award, which is presented in each of the 22 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A native of St. Charles, Mo., Nick Happe finished in the top 25 of the NCAA West Region race to earn all-region honors in 2011. He is the school's indoor track & field record holder in the mile, running in a time of 3:58.78 in 2011, eventually earning second team All-America nods last year. He has also posted the third-fastest indoor times in school history in the 3,000 meters (7:55.08) and 5,000 meters (13:54.15)

A finance major with a 4.09 cumulative grade point average, Happe was a first team Academic All-Pac-12 honoree in cross country in 2010 and 2011, while also earning first team honors on the track and field all-academic squad. He also earned a spot on the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association's (USTFCCCA) All-Academic squad in 2011 and 2012, and was voted a third team CoSIDA Academic All-American last year, an award that is voted on by the nation's College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Jordan Hasay of Arroyo Grande, Calif., is a three-time cross country All-American and was the NCAA individual runner-up last year, placing second by just .4 seconds. She was the Pac-10 individual champion in 2010 and also won the NCAA West Regional title the last two years.

A business administration major with a 3.98 GPA, Hasay became the first sophomore to be named National Women's Track & Field/Cross Country Academic All-American of the Year by the USTFCCCA in 2010. She is a two-time first team Academic All-American and was named first team academic all-conference twice.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network