Six teams make the NCAA tournament

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.— Stanford, UCLA, California, Arizona State, Washington and Washington State were selected to the field of 64 for the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship. The six teams will compete for the opportunity to play in the Women's College Cup, which takes place November 30 and December 2 at Torero Stadium in San Diego, Calif.

Stanford (17-1-1) grabbed the top overall seed after posting its fourth consecutive perfect Conference record and notching wins against eight ranked opponents. This is the program's 15th-straight and 21st overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Cardinal has made four straight College Cup appearances, finishing as the NCAA runner-up in 2009 and 2010 before winning the NCAA Championship a season ago. The defending national champs host Idaho State on Friday, Nov. 9 at 7 p.m. at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium.

UCLA (15-2-2) is one of four No. 3 seeds after a regular season in which it was a fixture in NSCAA top-five and was the last unbeaten team in Division I. This is the program's 15th straight and 17th all-time appearance in the tournament. The Bruins have advanced to the College Cup eight times—including a seven-year streak from 2003-09—and finished as the runners-up in 2000, 2004 and 2005. UCLA hosts Wisconsin in the first round at Drake Stadium on Saturday, Nov. 10 at 5:30 p.m. PT. The Bruins beat Wisconsin, 2-0, at home on Aug. 31 during a stretch in which they shut out four ranked opponents in as many weeks.

California (15-5-0) earned an at-large bid after finishing third in the Pac-12 and occupying a spot in or just outside the NSCAA top-25 for the final month of the season. It closed out the season on a 13-3 run and was in the hunt for the Pac-12 Championship until the final week of the season. This is the ninth consecutive and 20th all-time appearance for the Golden Bears. Cal takes on Pepperdine in the first round in Malibu, Calif. on Saturday, Nov. 10 at 1 p.m. PT.

Arizona State (10-8-2) also received an at-large bid after reeling off four straight wins to end the season and finishing tied for fourth in the Pac-12. This marks the Sun Devils' sixth all-time NCAA Tournament appearance and their third in the last four years. ASU hosts Baylor in the first round at Sun Devil Soccer Stadium on Friday, Nov. 9 at 7 p.m. MT.

Washington State (12-6-1) also finished tied for fourth in the Conference to earn another at-large bid for the Pac-12. This marks the second-straight and seventh all-time NCAA Tournament berth for the Cougars, who have appeared in three of the last four. They open with a road match against Portland on Friday, Nov. 9 at 7 p.m. PT.

Washington (10-7-3) will make its 12th NCAA Tournament appearance after missing the cut in 2011. The Huskies, who finished sixth in the Pac-12, have have qualified eight times since 2000 and made quarterfinal runs in 2004 and 2010. This marks the 12th tournament appearance for Washington, which hosts Auburn at Husky Soccer Stadium on Friday, Nov. 9 at 7:00 p.m. PT.

First-round matches will be played at campus sites. Just one round will be played the first weekend, followed by two rounds at a single campus site the following weekend (Nov. 16 and 18).

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder