UCLA's Bywaters named Pac-12 Player of the Year

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - In a vote by the Conference coaches, UCLA senior forward Zakiya Bywaters was named Pac-12 Player of the Year, California freshman forward Ifeoma Onumonu was named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and Stanford head coach Paul Ratcliffe was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced.

Pac-12 Player of the Year -- Zakiya Bywaters, UCLA
The Las Vegas native is the sixth Bruin to be named Conference Player of the Year. The senior closed out the 2012 regular season as the Pac-12 leader in points (30), goals (13), and game-winning goals (5) and anchored an offensive unit that ranked in the top two in the Conference in every major statistical category. She was the Soccer America National Player of the Week in mid-September and was twice named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week. Bywaters is a three time all-conference performer and was named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman team in 2009. She has started 84 of 88 games for the Bruins, tallying 63 career points (21 goals, 21 assists).

Pac-12 Freshman of the Year -- Ifeoma Onumonu, California
Onumonu was a force for California this season from the get-go, pacing the Bears and leading all Pac-12 freshmen in goals (11), assists (5), and points (30). The Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. native ranked second in the Conference in goals and points and tied for sixth in assists per game (0.26). Onumonu was named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week in early October after a weekend in which she notched three goals and an assist in a pair of wins over Colorado and Utah.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year -- Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford
Ratcliffe has been voted the Conference's top coach for the fifth straight year after leading Stanford to its fourth consecutive Pac-12 title. The Cardinal also posted its fourth straight perfect Conference record. The three-time national coach of the year boasts a 175-36-20 (.801) record in his nine years with the program, including a staggering 106-5-5 (.931) record since 2008. Stanford has made four straight College Cup appearances, finishing as the NCAA runner-up in 2009 and 2010 and winning the NCAA Championship in 2011.

Zakiya Bywaters•, F, Sr., UCLA
Rachel Quon••, D, Sr., Stanford
Alina Garciamendez••, D, Sr., Stanford
Mariah Nogueira•, MF, Sr., Stanford
Betsy Hassett, MF, Sr,. California
Emily Oliver•, GK, Jr., Stanford
Sarah Killion, MF, So., UCLA
Ifeoma Onumonu, F, Fr., California
Abby Dahlkemper•, D, So., UCLA
Chioma Ubogagu, F So., Stanford
Jazmin Ponce, F, Jr., Arizona

*Two-time All-Pac-12 honoree, **Three-time All-Pac-12 honoree

Brandi Vega, F, Sr., Washington State
Jenna Richardson, F, Jr., Oregon State
Taylor McCarter, MF, Sr., Arizona State
Rachael Doyle, D, Jr., Washington State
Micaela Castain, F, Jr., Washington State
Devin Marshall, F, Jr., Arizona State
Lucretia Lee, D, Sr., UCLA
Samantha Mewis, MF, So., UCLA
Amy Barczuk, MF, Sr., Colorado
Emi Lawson, D, Jr., California
Katelyn Rowland, GK, So., UCLA

Honorable Mention: Kaitlyn Fitzpatrick (California, Jr., MF); Samantha Johnson (USC, Sr., MF/F); Scout Libke (Oregon, Sr., MF); Jenna Richmond (UCLA, Jr., MF); Courtney Verloo (Stanford, RS Jr., F); Lindsay Elston (Washington, Jr., MF); Lo'eau LaBonta (Stanford, RS So., MF); Caprice Dydasco (UCLA, So., MF); Cali Farquharson (Arizona State, Fr., F); Avery Ford (Utah, So., D); Kari Davidson (Washington, RS Sr., GK).

Ifeoma Onumonu, F, Fr., California
Cali Farquharson, F, Fr., Arizona State
Taylor Smith, F, Fr., UCLA
Laura Liedle, D, Fr., Stanford
Isabel Farrell, MF, Fr., Washington
Mariah Powers, D, Fr., Oregon
Jamie Fink, MF, Fr., USC
Maya Theuer, D, Fr., Stanford
Sammy Jo Prudhomme, GK, Fr., Oregon State
Madison Krauser, MF, Fr., Colorado
Lindsey Luke, GK, RS Fr., Utah

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder