UCLA's Hollingshead named Pac-12 Player of the Year

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - In a vote by the Conference coaches, UCLA senior midfielder Ryan Hollingshead was named Pac-12 Player of the Year, STANFORD freshman midfielder Aaron Kovar was named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and UCLA head coach Jorge Salcedo was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year, as the Conference announced the men's soccer all-conference honors today.

Pac-12 Player of the Year -- Ryan Hollingshead, UCLA
The Granite Bay, Calif., native is the fifth UCLA player to earn Conference Player of the Year honors. Hollingshead joins Matt Taylor (2003), Patrick Ianni (2004), Michael Stephens (2008) and last year's winner Kelyn Rowe (2011) as the other Bruins to win the award. Hollingshead was a second-team all-conference honoree in 2011 and earned honorable mention honors in 2010. The senior midfielder tallied 20 points this season with six goals and five assists. Hollingshead is second on the team in both goals and assists. He leads the Bruins to their 40th all-time NCAA Tournament appearance earning the No. 6 seed and a first-round bye.

Pac-12 Freshman of the Year -- Aaron Kovar, Stanford
Kovar played in 15 games for the Cardinal this season, tallying eight points on the year off of three goals and two assists. The midfielder from Seattle, Wash., is the second Stanford player to win Conference Freshman of the Year. Bobby Warshaw was awarded the honor in 2007.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year -- Jorge Salcedo, UCLA
Salcedo was voted Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year after leading the Bruins to their fourth Conference title in five years and eighth overall. This is the fourth award for Salcedo, who also won the honor in 2004, 2008 and 2011. In his ninth season leading the Bruins the team tallied a record of 13-2-3 overall and an 8-1-1 in Pac-12 play, earning a No. 6 seed in the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have made the tournament each year under Salcedo's guidance, extending their postseason appearance streak to 30.

Name Year Position School
Ben Fisk Sr. MF Washington
Ryan Hollingshead Sr. MF UCLA
Adam Jahn Sr. F Stanford
Fernando Monge RS Sr. MF UCLA
Spencer Richey Jr. GK Washington
Tony Salciccia Sr. MF California
Leo Stolz So. MF UCLA
Dylan Tucker-Gangnes Sr. D Washington
Emery Welshman Sr. F Oregon State
Reed Williams Jr. F UCLA
Blake Wise Jr. MF San Diego State
Name Year Position School
Jose Altamirano Sr. MF San Diego State
Kevin Bick Jr. MF San Diego State
Seth Casiple So. MF California
Victor Chavez Jr. F UCLA
Hunter Gorskie Sr. D Stanford
Aaron Kovar Fr. MF Stanford
Ryan Neil Jr. D California
Kevin Peach RS So. GK California
Evan Raynr Sr. F UCLA
Joe Sofia Jr. D UCLA
Matt Wiet Sr. D UCLA


Honorable Mention: Dersu Abolfathi (STAN, Sr., MF); Zach Bateer (STAN, So., F); Stefano Bonomo (CAL, So., F); Christian Dean (CAL, So., D); Earl Edwards (UCLA, RS So., GK); Chris Harms (OSU, RS Sr., D); Ted Jones (CAL, RS Sr., D); J.J. Koval (STAN, Jr., MF); Jordan Ongaro (SDSU, Jr., F); Will Seymore (OSU, So., MF); Khiry Shelton (OSU, So., F)


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder