Three named Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.— Three Pac-12 women's soccer players have been named semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club' (MAC) Hermann Trophy, the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer. Stanford defenders Rachel Quon and Alina Garciamendez and UCLA forward Zakiya Bywaters are among 15 semifinalists for the award.

Bywaters, the Pac-12 Player of the Year, leads the Conference in points per game (1.48), goals per game (0.65) and game-winning goals (6). Quon and Garciamendez anchor a Stanford back line that has allowed just 14 goals in 23 games this season. Garciamendez has registered 13 points on the campaign, scoring six goals and adding an assist, and is one of three Cardinal to have started all 23 games. Quon, who has also started all 23 games for the Cardinal, has logged a team-high 1,823 minutes and has a pair of goals and seven assists on the year.

NCAA Division I Coaches who are NSCAA members votes combined with fan votes will select this year's MAC Hermann Trophy winner.

The list will be trimmed to three finalists on Dec. 6, and the winner will be announced on Jan. 11, 2013 at the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis. Stanford's Teresa Noyola won the award in 2011.

Other 2012 MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalists include: Natasha Anasi, Duke; Daphne Corboz, Georgetown; Crystal Dunn, North Carolina; Maya Hayes, Penn State; Ines Jaurena, Florida State; Julie Johnston, Santa Clara; Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, BYU; Kristen Mewis, Boston College; Caroline Miller, Virginia; Christine Nairn, Penn State; Kealia Ohai, North Carolina; Erika Tymrak, Florida

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder