Yankey and Sutton named 33rd Morris Trophy winners

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.— Offensive guard David Yankey of Stanford and defensive tackle Will Sutton of Arizona State have been named winners of the 33rd annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is given annually to the most outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pac-12 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, in which the league's starting offensive linemen vote for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Yankey, a a 6-foot-5, 301-pound junior from Roswell, Ga., is a 13-game starter for the Cardinal. He anchors an offensive line that allowed a Conference-low 17 sacks (1.42 per game) during the regular season while paving the way for a rushing attack that averaged 173.58 yards per game on the ground during the regular season. Yankey, who is a first team All-Pac-12 selection and an American Football Coaches of America (AFCA) All-American, has played four of the five positions on the offensive line and has lined up at tight end this season. He is the second Stanford offensive lineman, and the third Cardinal lineman overall, to win the Morris Trophy.

Sutton, a 6-foot-1, 267-pound redshirt junior from Corona, Calif., leads the Pac-12 and ranks fifth in the FBS with 1.82 tackles for loss per game (20 total). He also ranks 13th in the nation (third in the Conference) with .95 sacks per game (10.5 total) and paces a Sun Devil defense that has averaged 4.0 sacks and 8.83 tackles for loss per game in 2012; both figures rank second nationally. Sutton earned a Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week nod after collecting eight tackles (six solo), including three sacks, and forced a fumble in a victory over California. A first team AFCA All-American, he is the fifth Sun Devil to win the Morris Trophy and the third ASU defensive lineman to earn the honor.

The Morris Trophy is sponsored by the Washington Athletic Club, the 101 club, Athletic Awards of Seattle and the Morris Trophy Foundation. It was created by Traci (Morris) Drake in 1980 and named after her father, G. Patrick Morris, who was its sponsor for 29 years. Yankey and Sutton will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle on January 17, 2013.

For a list of past winners, visit www.morristrophy.com

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder