Pac-12 lands 14 on USA Softball preseason player of the year watch list

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Fourteen Pac-12 players were named to the watch list for the 2013 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America and USA Softball announced recently. Players from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, OREGON, STANFORD, UCLA and WASHINGTON were among the top 50 to receive preseason recognition

Now in its 12th year, the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, given by the National Governing Body for softball in the United States, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Previous Pac-12 players to be named the Collegiate Player of the Year, the most prestigious individual award in NCAA Division I softball are Stanford infielder Ashley Hansen (2011), UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002) and Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009, 2010)

To view a complete list of all 50 players named to the preseason watch list please visit

Preseason Watch List (Pac-12 Players Only)
Name School Year Position
B.B. Bates UCLA Senior Outfield
Brigette Del Ponte Arizona Senior Infield
Dallas Escobedo Arizona State Junior Pitcher
Amber Freeman Arizona State Sophomore Catcher
Tegan Gerhart Stanford Senior Pitcher
Jolene Henderson California Senior Pitcher/First Base
Kaitlin Inglesby Washington Junior Pitcher
Alix Johnson Arizona State Junior Outfield
Stephany LaRosa UCLA Sophomore Infield
Jessica Moore Oregon Senior Pitcher
Samantha Pappas Oregon Senior Outfield
Jenna Rich Stanford Senior Infield
Hallie Wilson Arizona Sophomore Outfield
Hanna Winter Stanford Sophomore Infield


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder