Seven Pac-12 players on Stopper of the Year watch list

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Seven Pac-12 baseball players have been named to the initital National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year watch list, the NCBWA announced Friday. The list, which consists of 75 players, marks the organization's first step toward identifying the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball. The Pac-12's seven representatives on the watch list are tied for the most by any conference.

Representing the Pac-12 on the watch list are the following student athletes (in alphabetical order): David Berg, So., UCLA; Tony Bryant, Sr., OSU; Ryan Deeter, Jr., UCLA; Matt Dunbar, Sr., ASU; Logan Scott, Sr., CAL; Jimmie Sherfy, Jr., ORE; A.J. Vanegas, Jr., STAN.

Sherfy, an NCBWA first team Preseason All-American, was a 2012 Stopper of the Year finalist after a season in which he recorded 19 saves and went 5-3 with a 2.20 ERA and 93 strikeouts.

The initial list will be trimmed during the week of April 16 and will include the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be announced as finalists on Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner, who will be announced in Omaha, Neb. on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

For the complete 2013 Stopper of the Year watch list, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder