Eleven named to Golden Spikes watch list

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Eleven Pac-12 baseball players have been named to USA Baseball's preseason Golden Spikes Award watch list, USA Baseball announced Thursday. The 50-athlete list marks the organization's first step toward identifying the top amateur baseball player in the country. The Pac-12's 11 representatives on the watch list the second most the most of any conference. Stanford is one of just two schools with three players named to the list.

Representing the Pac-12 on the watch list are the following student athletes (in alphabetical order): Mark Appel, RHP, Sr., STAN; Michael Conforto, OF, So., OSU; Johnny Field, OF/INF, Jr., ARIZ; Andrew Knapp, C, Jr., CAL, Pac-12; Adam Plutko, RHP, Jr., UCLA; Brian Ragira, 1B, Jr., STAN; Jimmie Sherfy, RHP, Jr., ORE, Pac-12; Konner Wade, RHP, Jr., ARIZ; Ben Wetzler, LHP, Jr., OSU; Trevor Williams, RHP, Jr., ASU; Austin Wilson, OF, Jr., STAN.

Following the release of a second, 60-player Watch List on Thursday, May 2, USA Baseball officials will announce the 30 semifinalists for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award on Tuesday, May 28. The list of 30 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of the media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2013. Tuesday, May 28, marks the day when amateur baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist on GoldenSpikesAward.com. As part of this selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of 30 names. On Tuesday, June 4, USA Baseball will announce the three finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

Former UCLA pitcher Trevor Bauer won the Golden Spikes Award in 2011. Other Pac-12 winners include Tim Lincecum (Washington, 2006) and Terry Francona (Arizona, 1980).

For the complete 2013 Golden Spikes Award watch list, visit USABaseball.com.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder