ASU's Meredith named Pac-12 wrestling scholar-athlete of the year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA STATE's Jake Meredith was named the Pac-12 Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced on Saturday at the Pac-12 Wrestling Championship. The award, which is presented in each of the 22 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Meredith graduated with a bachelor's degree last spring while redshirting what would have been his senior season with a knee injury. He is currently working towards a master's degree in global technology and development and has a GPA of 3.42. He has twice been named the ASU Student-Athlete of the Month in both October 2010 and November 2012.

The Temecula, Calif., native decided to return for a final season after missing the 2011-12 campaign. He was an NCAA Championship participant and Pac-12 Champion at 184 pounds during the 2010-11 season. He has been competing at the 197 pound weight class this season and has established himself among the elite in the weight class. He has a career record of 70-47 and is 35-23 in dual competition. He is 22-6 this season going into Pac-12 Championships and has been ranked in the nation's top-10 at 197 pounds for a majority of the year.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.

Other nominees included: - Tyler Iwamure, CSUB; Timmy Boone, STAN.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder