Cal's Clarendon named women's basketball scholar-athlete of the year

By the Pac-12 Conference

SEATTLE - California's Layshia Clarendon was named the Pac-12 Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced on Friday at the Pac-12 Women's Basketball Tournament in Seattle. The award, which is presented in each of the 22 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes who are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Clarendon, an American Studies major, owns a 3.47 cumulative GPA and is a finalist for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award, which recognizes senior student-athletes who excel athletically and academically and are positive influences on and off the court. She garnered second team Pac-12 All-Academic honors as a junior in 2012, and earned Pac-10 All-Academic honorable mention as a sophomore in 2010. She is a two-year captain for the Bears.

A 2013 All-Conference performer, Clarendon was named to the 2013 Wade and Naismith preseason watch lists after a junior campaign in which she garnered All-Pac-12 accolades from the league's coaches and its media and received WBCA All-America honorable mention. She was also a member of last year's All-Tournament team. She earned All-Pac-10 honorable mention as a sophomore in 2011 and was named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman team in 2010. Clarendon, who led Cal to a share of its first Conference title in school history this season, ranks second on the Conference's active career-leaders scoring list with 1,692 points.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.

Other nominees included: - Janae Fulcher, ASU; Mariah Williams, UCLA; Christina Marinacci, USC, Kristi Kingma, WASH; Carly Noyes, WSU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder