Skip to main content

Roberson Named Pac-12 Defensive Player of The Year

Mar 11, 2013

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Pac-12 Conference head coaches have selected University of Colorado junior forward Andre Roberson the league's Defensive Player of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Monday.

The standout from San Antonio, Texas, is CU's first-ever defensive player of the year award recipient. Roberson was also named one of 10 players to the conference first team, in addition to being named one of the five players to the all-defensive team.

It's the second year the conference coaches have named Roberson a first-team and all-defensive team selection.

Roberson (6'7", 210-pound, San Antonio, Texas/Wagner HS) was a force on defense for CU this season, as the Buffs limited their opponents to a Pac-12 low 62.2 points per game in league play. He led the conference with 11.5 rebounds and 2.3 steals per game, while also contributing 1.4 blocked shots per game (8th in the Pac-12). His 1,019 career rebounds are second all-time at Colorado.

Roberson leads the nation in rebounding and ranks among the top-25 in steals per game. Also on the national level, he has recorded 10 rebounds, two blocks and two steals in 10 games this year, twice as many as any other Division I player. He's the first CU player to average a double-double (10.8 ppg., 11.5 rpg.) in back-to-back years since Shaun Vandiver (1989-91).

Dinwiddie (6'6", 190-pound, Woodland Hills, Calif./Taft HS) earned first-team honors for the first time in his collegiate career after leading the Buffs in scoring with a 15.4 points per game average (7th in Pac-12). His conference scoring per game (16 ppg) ranks sixth, and he is fifth in free throw percentage (82.2) and 11th in assists (3.0).

He leads the Buffs with seven 20-point scoring games (four of those in the Pac-12), tops CU in assists (91, 3.0 apg) and at the free throw line (82.2%). He has led the team in scoring 13 times. The conference honor is Dinwiddie's second straight after bring named to the second team as a freshman.

Roberson and Dinwiddie are the first CU pair named to the conference first team since 1968-69 when Cliff Meely and Gordon Tope were named to the Big 8 Conference first team. In fact, Ken Charlton and Jim Davis (1962-63), and Charlton and Wilky Gilmore (1961-62) were the other tandems in the same year named conference first team. 

Scott (6'10", 215-pound, Monument, Colo./Lewis-Palmer HS) is CU's second selection to the all-Pac-12 freshmen team in as many years (Dinwiddie). His initial season as a Buff has been a successful one; he ranked second in team field goal percentage (48.7), free throw percentage (75.3), and rebounding (5.4).

Scott has started 27 of 28 games in which he has played. He is also fourth in scoring (10.7 ppg) with 16 games in double figures and a pair of double-doubles.

The other major conference awards were as follows: California junior guard Allen Crabbe - Pac-12 Men's Basketball Player of the Year; Arizona State guard Jahii Carson and UCLA guard Shabazz Muhammad - Pac-12 Co-Freshman of the Year; Stanford junior forward Dwight Powell - Pac-12 Most Improved Player of the Year; and Dana Altman of Oregon -John Wooden Coach of the Year.