Eight Pac-12 teams head to postseason play

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, OREGON and UCLA earned bids to the NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship, while ARIZONA STATE, STANFORD and WASHINGTON received bids to participate in the National Invitation Tournament.

Oregon (26-8) earned the Pac-12's automatic NCAA Tournament berth on Saturday after defeating UCLA, 77-69, in the Pac-12 Basketball Tournament championship game. The Ducks, who are making their 11th NCAA Tournament appearance, are the 12th seed and will face fifth-seeded Oklahoma State on Thursday in the Midwest Region's second round in San Jose, Calif.

UCLA (25-9), the Pac-12's regular season champion, are the sixth seed in the South Region and will meet 11th-seeded Minnesota Friday in Austin, Texas. The Bruins are making their 45th appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

Arizona (25-7) also claims a six seed in the West Region and will meet 11th-seeded Belmont on Thursday in Salt Lake City. California (20-11), making its 18th NCAA Tournament appearance, picks up a 12th seed in the East Region and will meet fifth-seeded UNLV on Thursday in San Jose. Colorado (21-11) is making its 12th NCAA Tournament appearance. The Buffaloes are a 10th seed in the East Region and will take on seventh-seeded Illinois Friday in Austin.

The five Tournament participants are the most since the league had seven teams play in the 2009 NCAA Tournament. There have been 16 national champions from the Pac-12: UCLA with 11 and Arizona, California, Oregon, Stanford and Utah with one apiece.

Stanford (18-14), the defending NIT champion, opens first round NIT action at home against Stephen F. Austin on Tuesday. Arizona State (21-12) hosts Detroit on Wednesday, while Washington (18-15) plays at BYU on Wednesday.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder