Six Pac-12 teams head to NCAA Wrestling Championships

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Wrestlers from all six Pac-12 teams will be competing in the 2013 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, which begins Thursday, March 21 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa. The six schools combined for 21 qualifying bids and one at-large selection, totaling 22 athletes slated to compete at nationals. The competition runs through March 23.

Arizona State has four wrestlers in the four upper-weight classes set to compete this week: redshirt freshman Blake Stauffer is the No. 11 seed competing at 174 pounds, redshirt sophomore Kevin Radford is competing at 184 pounds, senior Jake Meredith will wrestle as the No. 9 seed in the 197 group and fellow senior Levi Cooper will take to the mat in the heavyweight division.

Five members from the Boise State squad will compete at nationals, led by All-American redshirt senior Jason Chamberlain, who enters the tournament as a No. 2 seed and will compete at 149 pounds. Redshirt junior Jake Schwartz is the No. 10 seed at 184 pounds and heavyweight J.T. Felix is the No. 11 seed in the same weight class. Senior George Ivanov will compete at 157 pounds, and rounding out the Broncos' lineup is redshirt senior Brian Owen at 133 pounds.

Freshman 133-pounder Devon Lotito is Cal Poly's lone representative competing at the NCAA Championships. Lotito takes with him a 29-7 record and a Pac-12 title.

Cal State Bakersfield will send two to nationals. Redshirt senior Tyler Iwamura will compete at 125 pounds. He boasts a 23-8 record and captured a Pac-12 individual crown in the same weight class. Rounding the Runners' lineup is redshirt freshman Bryce Hammond at 174 pounds.

Seven members of the Oregon State wrestling team are headed to the NCAA Championships. Senior Mike Mangrum, at 141 pounds, secured the highest seed for the Beavers, earning a No. 3 seed. Senior heavyweight Chad Hanke is the No. 4 seed at 141 pounds. Sophomore 197-pounder Taylor Meeks was awarded the No. 5 seed, while junior 149-pounder Scott Sakaguchi drew the No. 7 seed. Junior RJ Pena claimed the No. 10 seed at 157 pounds. Rounding out the Beavers' squad are seniors Ty Vinson and Cody Weishoff at 184 and 174 pounds, respectively.

Stanford will send a trio of wrestlers off to Des Moines this week. Competing for the Cardinal are redshirt freshman Evan Silver at 125 pounds and juniors Bret Baumbach at 165 pounds and Dan Scherer at heavyweight.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder