All eight Pac-12 gymnastics teams headed to regionals

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The 2013 National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced Tuesday by the NCAA. All eight Pac-12 teams were selected to advance to the regionals and are spread out among four different sites. All regionals will be conducted Saturday, April 6, 2013.

UCLA garnered the lone No. 1 seed in the Pac-12 and will be traveling to Columbus, Ohio with ARIZONA as a No. 3 seed. They are joined by host Ohio State, LSU, Central Michigan and North Carolina State. The Bruins start the meet on vault with the Wildcats on a bye on the first rotation before starting on floor in rotation two. Competition begins at 6 p.m. ET.

The Corvallis Regional, hosted by the Pac-12's own OREGON STATE, is the most popular destination for Pac-12 teams, with three squads headed that way. The Beavers garnered the No. 2 seed and will begin on a bye before heading to bars in the second rotation with No. 5 ARIZONA STATE starting on bars and No. 6 CALIFORNIA beginning on beam. The No. 1 seed in the Corvallis Regional went to Georgia with Arkansas and Boise State rounding out the competition, which is set to begin at 4 p.m. PT.

No. 2 STANFORD and No. 4 WASHINGTON are headed to the Norman Regional to compete against host No. 1 Oklahoma, Penn State, Iowa and Southern Utah. The Huskies will start the competition on floor with the Cardinal receiving a bye on the first rotation before beginning competition in the second rotation on bars. Competition begins at 4 p.m. CT.

Lastly, UTAH drew the Tuscaloosa Regional, where they will be headed south to face host No. 1 Alabama, Denver, Kent State, Brigham Young and Iowa State. The Utes start competition at 6 p.m. CT and will begin their regional competition in a first-round bye before heading to bars in rotation two.

Other regional sites without Pac-12 teams include the Gainesville Regional and the Morgantown Regional. The top two teams and top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Los Angeles, Calif., April 19-21, hosted by UCLA.

The event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder