Clarendon, Ogwumike and VanDerveer named WBCA national awards finalists

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - California guard Layshia Clarendon and Stanford forward Chiney Ogwumike are among 12 finalists for the 2013 State Farm Wade Trophy, the WBCA announced Wednesday. The award is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division I women's basketball player.

Clarendon, the Conference's sixth-leading scorer (16.0 ppg), is also among the league leaders in field goal percentage (.452), assists (2.88 apg) and steals (1.67 spg).

Ogwumike, who was named the Pac-12 Player of the Year earlier this month, leads the league in field goal percentage (.580), rebounding (13.0 rpg) and scoring (22.3 ppg). She ranks third, fourth and seventh in the NCAA in those categories, respectively.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5 p.m. CT Monday, April 8, in the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center's New Orleans Theatre. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four.

The 12 finalists are now candidates for the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches' All-America Team, which will be selected in April.

The WBCA also announced that Stanford head coach Tara VanDerveer has been named a finalist for the 2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Division I National Coach of the Year Award.

VanDerveer is one of eight finalists along with Muffet McGraw (Notre Dame), Brenda Frese (Maryland), Holly Warlick (Tennessee), Tricia Cullop (Toledo), Kim Mulkey (Baylor), Coquese Washington (Penn State) and Beth Burns (San Diego State).

VanDerveer has won the award twice, first in 1989 and most recently in 2011.

VanDerveer has led the Cardinal to a 33-2 record and a No. 4 national ranking. Earlier this month, VanDerveer was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year after guiding Stanford to its 13th straight conference regular season title. Stanford is making its 26th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and 27th overall.

RUSSELL ATHLETIC and the WBCA present the national coach of the year award annually in each of the five WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III; NAIA; junior/community college and high school). This is the 31st year that the WBCA has presented this honor to a NCAA Division I head coach.

The top-seeded Cardinal will face Georgia in the Spokane Regional Semifinal on Saturday, March 30, at 6:00 p.m. PT. Clarendon and the second-seeded Bears take on LSU in the Spokane Regional Semifinal on March 30 at 8:30 p.m. PT.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder