Ipsen, Quintero and Schavone capture 2013 Pac-12 men's diving awards

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Stanford senior Kristian Ipsen was named Pac-12 Men's Diver of the Year, his coach, Rick Schavone was named Pac-12 Men's Diving Coach of the Year and Arizona freshman Rafael Quintero was named Pac-12 Men's Diving Freshman/Newcomer of the Year, the Conference office announced today. The awards were voted on by the Pac-12 men's diving coaches.

Ipsen enjoyed a successful campaign in all three diving disciplines. The 2012 Olympic bronze medalist set a Conference record on the 3-meter springboard at this year's Pac-12 Championships and took home the league title on the one-meter springboard en route to picking up Men's Diver of the Meet honors. He followed his performance at the Conference meet with a record-setting performance on the one-meter springboard at the NCAA Championships, during which he also won his second national title on the three-meter and took second on the platform.

Quintero swept the one-meter, three-meter and platform events at the Bruin Invitational in January to kick off a string of 12 straight top-two finishes. At the Pac-12 Championships in March, the Rio Grande, Puerto Rico native became the first Arizona freshman in more than a decade to win the platform title. He captured the championship with score of 399.90 points, edging Stanford's Kristian Ipsen and Arizona State's Harrison Jones. He finished second on the platform, third on the one-meter and fifth on the three-meter at the Zone E Diving Championships and went on to take sixth on the platform at the NCAA Championships.

Schavone led four Stanford divers to the NCAA championships, where Ipsen claimed titles on the one-meter and three-meter springboard events. A three-time national diving coach of the year, Schavone has guided men's and women's divers to 11 individual national championships. He served on Team USA's Olympic coaching staff at the 2012 Olympics in London. This is the second Pac-12 Men's Diving Coach of the Year honor for Schavone, who has been named the women's coach of the year six times.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder