Pac-12 Enterprises' Stevenson announces departure; Murphy-Stephans named Pac-12 Networks president

Gary R. Stevenson, who led the effort in making the Pac-12’s national, regional and digital networks a reality, has announced that he is leaving his position as President of Pac-12 Enterprises, the Pac-12 Conference said today.

“Now that the Pac-12 television and digital Networks have successfully launched and are delivering great content to our fans, and have developed broad distribution and a solid sponsor base, I think this is a good time for me to move on to my next adventure,” Stevenson said. “I’m very proud of what we accomplished, a real first in college sports broadcasting, and I want to thank our terrific group of people for the hard work they did, as well as the student-athletes of our member universities.”

Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott said, “Gary led the effort in turning a great idea into an exciting reality in record time. From hiring an all-star staff to constructing a state-of-the-art studio and developing the infrastructure on 12 campuses to televise 550 events in our first year, Gary’s efforts are benefitting millions of fans who watch Pac-12 Networks across all platforms. I want to thank Gary for his hard work.”

With Stevenson’s decision, Commissioner Scott has elevated Lydia Murphy-Stephans, who has been Executive Vice President and General Manager of Pac-12 Networks since their August 2012 inception, to President of Pac-12 Networks. Scott said, “I want to congratulate Lydia on her well-deserved promotion.”

When Murphy-Stephans became EVP and General Manager of Pac-12 Networks in 2011, she became the first woman to head a national sports network. She has worked in sports television since 1986, including ABC Sports’ iconic “Wide World of Sports” and MSG Networks and has amassed 24 Emmy Awards.

About the Pac-12 Conference

The Conference has a tradition as the “Conference of Champions,” leading or the nation in NCAA titles 46 of the last 52 years and amassing a total of 455 NCAA team titles. The Conference comprises 12 leading U.S. universities: The University of Arizona, Arizona State University, the University of California-Berkeley, the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), the University of Oregon, Oregon State University, Stanford University, the University of Southern California, the University of Washington, Washington State University, the University of Utah, and the University of Colorado. Conference offices are located 25 miles east of San Francisco in Walnut Creek, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder