Four named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year midseason list

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Four Pac-12 relief pitchers are among 51 players named to the midseason watch list for the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, an honor given to the top reliever in NCAA Division I baseball, the NCBWA announced on Tuesday. The Pac-12's four representatives are tied for the second-most of any conference.

Representing the Pac-12 on the watch list are the following student-athletes (in alphabetical order): David Berg, So., UCLA; Scott Schultz, Jr., OSU; Jimmie Sherfy, Jr., ORE; Mathew Troupe, So., ARIZ.

Sherfy, a 2012 Stopper of the Year finalist, leads the Pac-12 and ranks second in the NCAA with 13 saves. He boasts a 1.00 ERA in 26 appearances this season and has struck out 38 batters while walking nine. He has held opposing batters to a .200 average.

Schultz, who has appeared in 16 games for the Beavers this season, owns a 2-1 record and a 1.15 ERA in 31.1 innings of work. He has registered 25 strikeouts versus five walks, and opposing batters have hit just .162 against him. He has eight saves on the year, a figure that ranks fourth in the Conference.

Berg, the reigning Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week, owns the lowest ERA (0.85) and opposing batting average (.176) in the Pac-12. He is 4-0 in 25 appearances (42.1 innings) with 42 strikeouts and just four walks. Berg, who has not allowed a run in his last nine appearances (16 innings), ranks second in the Conference with 10 saves on the year.

Troupe, who ranks third in the Pac-12 with nine saves, claims a 2.67 ERA in 20 appearances (27.0 innings). He has fanned 39 batters and walked 14 while limiting opponents to a 1.67 average.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2013 College World Series.

For the complete 2013 Stopper of the Year midseason watch list, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder