Stanford's Lin named Pac-12 Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Stanford's Denis Lin was named the Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced on Friday at the Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Championship. The award, which is presented in each of the 22 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Lin, a native of Thousand Oaks, Calif. is a mechanical engineering major. Lin has earned a GPA of 3.85 while at Stanford. He was a 2011-12 and a 2010-11 Pac-12 All-Academic First Team selection. He was named an ITA Scholar Athlete for the past three seasons.

[Related: Pac-12 Men's Tennis Championships bracket]

During the 2013 season Lin has tallied an 8-7 record in singles and an 18-13 doubles record. He partnered with Daniel Ho during the first half of the season and has paired with John Morrissey in the past 16 matches at the No. 1 spot. Lin posted an 8-16 overall record in 2012, including a 4-13 record in dual play. The senior doubled with Matt Kandath in 2012 and was 12-7 overall, including a 10-4 mark at the No. 2 spot. He notched a 22-14 overall record in his sophomore season and was 16-8 in duals that year. He started his career as a Cardinal with a 19-9 overall record. During his career at Stanford, Lin has played everywhere from the Nos. 2-6 spots in the lineup.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.

[Related: Complete Pac-12 Tennis Championships broadcast info]


Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder