WSU's Monda named to Olerud Watch List

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.— Washington State outfielder and left-handed pitcher Jason Monda has been named to the 2013 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award Watch List, the College Baseball Hall of Fame announced Saturday. He is one of 25 college baseball players on the watch list for the award, which recognizes players who excel both on the mound and in the field.

Monda boasts an earned run average of 0.78 in 23.0 innings pitched. The Olympia, Wash. native has struck out 20 batters while allowing just two earned runs and seven walks and has not conceded a triple or a home run. Monda, who is batting .294 this season, also has six home runs, four doubles and a club-leading 33 RBIs.

Olerud, the award's namesake, led the Cougars to a school-record 52 wins while playing in all 66 games during the 1988 season. He was named national player of the year after batting .464 and posting a 15-0 record on the mound. His number was retired by Washington State on March 30.

The Olerud Award will be presented on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions.

Others on the 2013 Olerud Watch List: Zach Evans, Georgia Tech; Matt Conway, Wake Forest; Mike Connolly, Maine; Jacob Mayers, Richmond; Clinton Freeman, East Tennessee State; Taylor Kaufman, Iowa; Zach Morton, Northwestern; Tanner Witt, Kansas State; Randy McCurry, Oklahoma State; Nick Howard, Virginia; David Olson, Campbell; Ryan Retz, High Point; Michael Lorenzen, Cal State Fullerton; Jake Gonzalez, Houston Baptist; Nick Miller, Northern Colorado; Jake Peter, Creighton; Mark Shannon, UNLV; Josh Davis, Belmont; Ryan Lowe, Davidson; Desmond Russell, Jackson State; Ryan Wilson, Louisiana Lafayette; Dylan Christensen, CSU Bakersfield; Marco Gonzales, Gonzaga.

For more information about the John Olerud Two-Way Player Award, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder