Ten Pac-12 teams receive bids to NCAA tennis championships

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Ten Pac-12 teams -- five men's teams and five women's teams -- have been selected to the 64-team field for the NCAA Division I men's tennis championship and the NCAA Division I women's tennis championship. The men's side is led by No. 1 seed UCLA, as announced by the NCAA selections committees on Tuesday.

The women's teams were led by fifth-seeded USC with four of the five teams receiving seeds. UCLA and CALIFORNIA were seeded seventh and eighth, respectively. STANFORD was given the 12th seed and ARIZONA STATE joined the tournament with a bid. California, UCLA and Stanford all are tied at the top of the nation for the most appearances in the tournament with 32 apiece. Stanford leads the nation with 16 national titles and was the last Pac-12 team to capture an NCAA title in women's tennis in 2010.

UCLA and USC were the two men's teams to be seeded in the NCAA championship with the Bruins earning the top seed and USC seeded fourth. WASHINGTON, California and Stanford also received bids on the men's side. UCLA and USC lead the nation in most appearances at an NCAA tennis championship with 37 for UCLA and 36 for USC. The Trojans will attempt to capture their fifth NCAA championship in a row.

The men's and women's championship follow the same format, with the top-16 seeds hosting the first and second rounds of the championship. Per NCAA policy, the top-16 seeds are guaranteed to host and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. First- and second-round competition for the men takes place May 10-12, with the women's first two rounds played May 10-11 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex/Atkins Tennis Center in Urbana, Ill., where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship. The men's competition will be played May 17-21 and the women's May 16-21. The event will be hosted by the University of Illinois.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder