Pac-12 players selected for NCAA singles and doubles competition

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The NCAA Division I Subcommittee released the 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams that will compete in the 2013 NCAA Division I Tennis Championships for both men's and women's tennis, the NCAA announced this week.

The Pac-12 has 10 men's singles players and one men's doubles team in the competition, and 13 women's singles and five women's doubles teams selected. USC leads the men's selections with four singles players with USC advancing three. CALIFORNIA, STANFORD and WASHINGTON each have one men's singles player apiece. On the women's side, USC, Stanford and California each have three individuals selected, with UCLA advancing two in the competition. ARIZONA STATE and ARIZONA advance one each.

USC took the Pac-12 automatic qualifying positions on both the men's and women's side, with Emilio Gomez earning the men's as a seven seed, and Sabrina Santamaria earning the women's with a two seed. USC's Ray Sarmiento is the only other seeded men's player and was grouped in the 9-16 seeds. On the women's, side the Pac-12 snatched up four of the top eight seeds with UCLA's Robin Anderson seeded third, Cal's Zsofi Susanyi seeded fifth and Anett Schutting of Cal with the eight seed. Stanford's Nicole Gibbs and Krista Hardebeck, and USC's Danielle Lao all were placed in the group of 9-16 seeds.

On the doubles side for men, Campbell Johnson and Christoffer Konigsfeldt from California were the automatic qualifier and the lone doubles team in the competition. USC women's duo and Pac-12 doubles champions Kaitlyn Christian and Santamaria grabbed the No. 2 seed on the women's doubles side and the automatic qualifying position for the Pac-12. They are joined by two pairs from Stanford, one from UCLA and a pair of their own teammates.

The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 22-27 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex/Atkins Tennis Center in Urbana, Ill., following the conclusion of the team championship, which runs from May 16-21 for the men and May 17-21 for the women.

All matches will be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games all will be used for all matches.

Men's Singles Qualifiers

No. 7 Emilio Gomez, USC (Automatic Qualifier)
Marcos Giron, UCLA
Yannick Hanfmann, USC
Ben McLachlan, California
Kyle McMorrow, Washington
John Morrissey, Stanford
Dennis Novikov, UCLA
Adrien Puget, UCLA
Roberto Quiroz, USC
No. 9-16 Ray Sarmiento, USC

Men's Singles Alternates
2. Campbell Johnson, California

Men's Doubles Qualifiers

Campbell Johnson/Christoffer Konigsfeldt, California (Automatic Qualifier)

Women's Singles Qualifiers
No. 2 Sabrina Santamaria, USC (Automatic Qualifier)
Kristie Ahn, Stanford
No. 3 Robin Anderson, UCLA
Jacqueline Cako, Arizona State
Klara Fabikova, California
No. 9-16 Nicole Gibbs, Stanford
No. 9-16 Krista Hardebeck, Stanford
No. 9-16 Danielle Lao, USC
Kyle McPhillips, UCLA
Zoe Scandalis, USC
No. 8 Anett Schutting, California
Lacey Smyth, Arizona
No. 5 Zsofi Susanyi, California

Women's Doubles Qualifiers

No. 2 Kaitlyn Christian/Sabrina Santamaria, USC (Automatic Qualifier)
Jaklin Alawi/Dominika Kanakova, USC
No. 5-8 Kristie Ahn/Nicole Gibbs, Stanford
Ellen Tsay/Stacey Tan, Stanford
Robin Anderson/Skylar Morton, UCLA

Women's Doubles Alternates
2. Jacqueline Cako/Nicole Smith, Arizona State
4. Lynn Chi/Anett Schutting, California
5. Paige Miles/Tereza Bekerova, Utah
7. Pamela Montez/Courtney Dolehide, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder