Ten Pac-12 men's golf teams headed to NCAA regionals

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2013 NCAA men's golf championships as 10 teams will compete in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 16-18.

The Pac-12 earned three No. 1 seeds in the six regionals. Pac-12 champion California is the No. 1 seed in the Pullman Region (Palouse Ridge Golf Club), the UCLA Bruins earned the No. 1 seed in the Tempe Region (Karsten Golf Course), while Washington claimed the No.1 seed at the Tallahassee Region (Golden Eagle Country Club).

The remaining Pac-12 teams selected for the NCAA regionals are Stanford (No. 2 seed in the Columbus Region), USC (No. 3 seed in the Pullman Region), Oregon (No. 8 seed in the Tallahassee Region), Arizona State (No. 9 seed in the Tempe Region), Oregon State (No. 9 seed in the Tallahassee Region), Colorado (No. 10 seed in the Fayetteville Region - The Blessing Golf Club) and Arizona (No. 11 seed in the Tempe Region).

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, which will be held May 28-June 2 at the Capital City Club Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga.

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 14 NCAA team titles and produced 15 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-12 has netted three team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 - UCLA) and four individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA).

NCAA Regionals Sites
University Club, Baton Rouge, La. (Louisiana State University, host)
Golden Eagle Country Club, Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State University, host)
Scarlet Course, Columbus, Ohio, (Ohio State University, host)
The Blessings Golf Club, Fayetteville, Ark. (University of Arkansas, host)
Palouse Ridge Golf Club, Pullman, Wash. (Washington State University, host)
Karsten Golf Course, Tempe, Ariz. (Arizona State University, host)

NCAA Championships Site
Capital City Club Crabapple Course, Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Institute of Technology, host)

NCAA Championships Format
All 30 teams and six individuals will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-15. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the number one seed playing the number eight seed, the number two seed versus the number seven seed, the number three seed versus the number six seed, and the number four seed versus the number five seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match, be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder