McCartney, Bruschi named to College Football Hall of Fame

A day many years in the making finally came for former Colorado head coach Bill McCartney and former Arizona defensive standout Tedy Bruschi as the two were selected to the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013 on Tuesday.

McCartney, the winningest coach in Colorado football history, becomes the seventh Buffalo enshrined in the Hall. Over 13 seasons, he went 93-55-5 while capturing the program's only national championship in football in 1990.

[Related: 2013 Pac-12 football schedule highlights]

“It all started with my first recruiting class, that winter of ’83,” McCartney said in a release. “I asked all the in-state players not to make a decision until they visited CU, and we wanted them to come in the last weekend before signing day. They gave their word and most of them held to it. They stuck together, and they helped recruit our great class in ’87 that made up the core of the national championship team.

“That’s how I am in the Hall of Fame,” he said boldly. “This means something to the state of Colorado, it’s part of our history. What led us to the national championship is that seven years earlier, the in-state kids stayed home.”

[Related: Pac-12 coaches discuss new playoff system, position battles]

McCartney led a remarkable turnaround during his time in Boulder and elevated the program to one of the nation's best during his time in charge. After taking over in 1982, the Buffaloes had three losing seasons under the coach, but the administration stuck with him. The move paid off as McCartney lost just 13 conference games over the final 10 years of his tenure while reaching nine bowl games. His teams were noted for their tough schedules and consistent presence in the top 25 during the latter half of his career.

"Mac," as he was known, also turned out a coaching tree that included 12 future college football head coaches. The now-72-year-old retired after the 1994 season with an 11-1 campaign.

Bruschi becomes the fourth Arizona player to be named a College Football Hall of Famer. A key component of the Wildcats' famous "Desert Swarm" defense, Arizona captured its first 10-victory season in 1993 behind Bruschi - who was named Fiesta Bowl MVP after a dominating 29-0 win over Miami.

[Related: How to get Pac-12 Networks]

A defensive lineman in college, Bruschi ended his career with an NCAA record-tying 52 sacks. He was named a consensus All-American his junior and senior years while winning Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year in 1995. He also captured the Morris Trophy for the league's best defensive lineman his senior year.

Bruschi was selected in the third round of the NFL Draft by the New England Patriots and won three Super Bowls with the team during his 13-year career. He was also named the AP Comeback Player of the Year in 2005 after suffering a stroke and he remains an advocate for stroke survivors with his foundation, Tedy's Team.

Fifteen other former Pac-12 players and coaches were among the 77 candidates for the 2013 class.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder