Pac-12 pursues 15th NCAA women's golf title

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Six Pac-12 schools will compete in the 2013 NCAA Women's Golf Championships which run May 21-24, at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Georgia. Georgia will serve as the host. Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA and USC all qualified out of their regionals. Additionally, Washington's Ying Luo will compete as an individual.

The University of Georgia Golf Course is a 7,240-yard, par-72 course. The NCAA Championships will be played over 72 holes, with groups in the morning and afternoon going off number one and 10 tees. Each team consists of five players, and the top four scores from each team will be counted each day.

Live scoring of the NCAA Championships will be available on The NCAA will provide a live webcast of the ninth and 18th holes for the third and fourth rounds of the tournament. For more information, visit

Pac-12 teams have captured 14 NCAA women's golf titles, including three in the last four years. Arizona State has won more NCAA championships than any other institution with seven, with their most recent crown coming in 2009. Arizona and USC both have two apiece. The Pac-12 has 456 NCAA team titles, more than any other conference.

Team Previews:
Arizona - The Wildcats are making their 28th overall appearance at the NCAA Championships. Arizona has notched seven top-five finishes this season, including fourth place at the Pac-12 Championships. Arizona tied for sixth at the NCAA West Regional. The Wildcats are currently ranked eighth in the Golf World/WCGA rankings.

Arizona State - The Sun Devils qualified for their 22nd straight appearance and 31st overall at the NCAA Championships. Both are NCAA records. Arizona State has recorded seven top-five finishes this season, including fifth place at the PING/ASU Invitational. The Sun Devils finished in fifth place with a total of 14-over 878 (292-298-288) at the NCAA Central Regional.

Oregon - Oregon will make its second straight appearance and 26th overall at the NCAA Championships. The Ducks tied for sixth with Arizona and San Jose State in the NCAA West Regional. Sophomore Cassy Isagawa led the way for the Ducks, finishing in a tie for fifth place in the individual pool after shooting 1-over 72 in the final round.

Stanford - Stanford qualified for their 48th NCAA Championships appearance after finishing fifth in the NCAA West Regional, hosted by Stanford. The Cardinal entered the final day with a five-stroke lead over the competition and finished 16-strokes behind first-place USC. With a three-over-par 216, sophomore Mariko Tumangan led the Cardinal with a tie for 10th.

UCLA - No. 7 ranked (Golf World/WGCA) UCLA will compete in their 35th NCAA Championship after finishing in seventh place at the NCAA East Regional. The Bruins shot 289 (+1), the fifth best score of the final round. Senior Tiffany Lua led UCLA with a 69 (-3) and finished 18th.

USC - Top ranked USC captured its fourth consecutive regional after winning the NCAA West Regional. The Trojans were in second-place after the first round and finished the tournament with a one-stroke victory at 7-over 859. Freshman Annie Park finished tied for first with a 3-under 68.

Individual Preview:
Ying Luo, Washington - The freshman from Shenzhan, China will compete in the NCAA Championships in her first year of competition after tying for eighth at the NCAA Central Regional. Luo started tied for 24th and moved up after carding 1-under 68 in the final round.

NCAA Team Champions from the Pac-12
1990 - Arizona State
1991 - UCLA
1993 - Arizona State
1994 - Arizona State
1995 - Arizona State
1996 - Arizona
1997 - Arizona State
1998 - Arizona State
2000 - Arizona
2003 - USC
2004 - UCLA
2008 - USC
2009 - Arizona State
2011 - UCLA

NCAA Individual Champions from the Pac-12
1985 - Danielle Ammaccapane, Arizona State
1990 - Susan Slaughter, Arizona
1991 - Annika Sorenstam, Arizona
1995 - Kristel Mourgue d'Algue, Arizona State
1996 - Marisa Baena, Arizona
1998 - Jennifer Rosales, USC
1999 - Grace Park, Arizona State
2000 - Jenna Daniels, Arizona
2003 - Mikaela Parmlid, USC
2004 - Sarah Huarte, California
2006 - Dewi Schreefel, USC
2008 - Azahara Muñoz, ASU

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder