Washington's Williams wins 2013 Hogan Award

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Washington men's golfer Chris Williams was named the recipient of the 2013 Ben Hogan Award on Monday at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas. California's Michael Kim and TCU's Julien Brun were also finalists for men's collegiate golf's most prestigious award. All three finalists were present for the announcement.

The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period.

Williams is the world's No.1-ranked amateur in both the World Amateur Golf Rankings and the Scratch Players World Rankings. He was the 2012 recipient of the Mark H. McMormack Medal as the world's top-ranked amateur, which allowed him to clinch berths into the 2013 U.S. Open and the Open Championship. A native of Moscow, Idaho, he swept the 2012 Western Amateur match play and stroke play titles. He also advanced to the quarterfinals of the U.S. Amateur last summer.

Additionally, he helped the United States claim the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships in the fall. He also competed for Team USA in the Palmer Cup and the Copa de las Americas. Collegiately, Williams has seven top-10 finishes in 11 events this year, including three runner-up showings. The first-team All-Pac-12 selection boasts a 71.06 season stroke average. Last weekend, he tied for 14th at the NCAA's Tallahassee Regional, helping his squad advance to the NCAA Championships.

By virtue of his win, Williams was presented with an exemption into the PGA TOUR's 2014 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial by tournament director Bobby Patton. In addition, his university earned a record $25,000 grant for its men's golf scholarship program. Kim and Brun each earned their respective schools $12,500 grants.

Williams is the second Husky ever to win the award, joining Nick Taylor (2010). He is the second straight winner from the Pac-12 Conference (Patrick Cantlay, UCLA) and the third in the last four years in the league. Arizona's Ricky Barnes also won the award in 2003.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder