Stanford's Appel named Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Stanford's Mark Appel was named the Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced on Wednesday. The award, which is presented in each of the 22 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes who are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Appel, who hails from Houston, Texas, is a four-year contributor for the Cardinal and has been the club's Friday night starter for the last three seasons. He was named the NCBWA Pitcher of the Year and garnered numerous All-America accolades from the NCBWA, Collegiate Baseball and Baseball America in 2012. A first-team All-Pac-12 selection a season ago, Appel posted a 10-2 record and led the Conference with 130 strikeouts en route to being named a Golden Spikes Award finalist and a Dick Howser Trophy semifinalist. The preseason All-American has gone 8-4 in 12 starts for the Cardinal this season and boasts a 1.97 ERA and a .201 opposing batting average. He leads the Pac-12 and ranks fourth in the NCAA with 110 strikeouts and is a top contender for a number of postseason awards, including the Dick Howser Trophy and the Golden Spikes Award. rates Appel as the No. 1 prospect entering the 2013 MLB Amateur Draft.

Despite being selected with the eighth overall pick in the 2012 MLB Amateur Draft, Appel opted to return for his senior season at Stanford, where, as a management science and engineering major, he maintains a 3.11 GPA. He earned Pac-12 All-Academic honorable mention as a junior in 2012 and as a sophomore in 2011. Appel is one of 10 finalists for the Senior CLASS Award, given annually to the player who best exemplifies excellence in four core areas: community, classroom, character and competition.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball and wrestling.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.

Other nominees included: - Max Rossiter, ASU; Ryan Barnes, OSU; Greg Zebrack, USC; Joe Pond, UTAH; Joe Meggs, WASH.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder