Sixteen Pac-12 players on WNBA opening-night rosters

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - With the 2013 WNBA season officially kicking off today, 16 players from Pac-12 institutions will suit up for nine of the league's teams. Stanford has the most alums in the league, boasting six players on rosters. Players from seven of the Conference's teams will be on the bench this summer.

The 2013 season begins with the 2012 WNBA champion Indiana Fever traveling to face the San Antonio Silver Stars. That game will feature five former Pac-12 players. Putting on the away jersey this evening will be California's Layshia Clarendon, a first-round draft pick who is fresh off leading the Golden Bears to the program's first-ever NCAA Final Four, Arizona State's Briann January, a two-time Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, and Stanford's Jeanette Pohlen, the 2011 Pac-10 Player of the Year. The trio will face the home team's Jayne Appel, a former Cardinal and 2009 Pac-10 Player of the Year, and Arizona rookie Davellyn Whyte, a four-time all-conference selection, as well as the 2010 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year.

The rest of the WNBA's 16 teams are in full swing over the Memorial Day weekend, including the Los Angeles Sparks. The Sparks are led by Nnemkadi Ogwumike, who was named the 2012 WNBA Rookie of the Year, becoming the first player from a Pac-12 team to earn the honor. Also on the Los Angeles Sparks is nine-year veteran and former USC Trojan Ebony Hoffman.

The WNBA regular season runs through Sunday, Sept. 15. For the full 2013 WNBA schedule, as well as links to team pages and player bios, visit

Active WNBA Players
Ebony Hoffman, USC, Los Angeles Sparks
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford, Los Angeles Sparks
Briana Gilbreath, USC, Phoenix Mercury
Jayne Appel, Stanford, San Antonio Silver Stars
Davellyn Whyte, Arizona, San Antonio Silver Stars
Noelle Quinn, UCLA, Seattle Storm
Tina Thompson, USC, Seattle Storm
Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, Tulsa Shock
Nicole Powell, Stanford, Tulsa Shock
Candice Wiggins, Stanford, Tulsa Shock
Eshaya Murphy, USC, Chicago Sky
Ashley Walker, California, Connecticut Sun
Layshia Clarendon, California, Indiana Fever
Briann January, Arizona State, Indiana Fever
Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford, Indiana Fever
Leilani Mitchell, Utah, New York Liberty

Shelley Patterson, Washington State, Minnesota Lynx (assistant coach)
Julie Hargrove, Arizona, Phoenix Mercury (assistant coach)

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder